top of page

National Junior League Day 2 - 19 November 2022

Cippenham's three teams in the National Junior League were in action on Saturday in the second day of this four-day season-long competition. The A, B and D teams held on to the status they attained on day one, however the most successful was the C team who responded to being relegated to Division 6 last time by immediately bouncing back.

The Cippenham A team just about held on to their Division 2 status by beating Guildford A 5-4. Cippenham, who lost their other two matches against Chiltern A 3-6 and Ashford C 2-7, pipped Guildford by virtue of that result, having finished level with them on ten points. Edward Meacock was Cippenham's star in this match, winning all three of his matches while George Driscoll and Louis Alexander won one each. Over the whole day, Edward won five of his nine matches while George won three and Louis two.

Cippenham C had a similar relegation scare but, in the end, finished one point ahead of Bourne End Junior Sports Club B in Division 4. However, their one victory came against second-placed Chiltern C who were beaten 5-4 and they actually lost against Bourne End 3-6 and Chiltern B 2-7. Over the day, Charlie Cook won six of his nine matches while Ankush Srinivas and Rishi Nanda won two each.

The Cippenham C and D teams were both operating in Division 6 this time. The C team bounced back immediately, winning promotion to Division 5 by establishing a clear lead over the other three teams. All three matches were won: 9-0 against Ashford F, 6-3 against Chiltern D and 7-2 in the all-Cippenham match against their D team. The C team comprised the three Prasanna Kumar brothers and all returned good analyses. Bharath and eight-years old Sai both won eight out of nine and Arjun won six times. Bharath had the distinction of being named player of the match in all three matches.

The Cippenham D team finished third in Division 6, beating Ashford F 5-4 but losing against Cippenham C and Chiltern D both 2-7. Aaran Seth won five of his nine matches while the other three players played six matches only with Aryan Sharma winning half of his, Reeyan Sharman winning once and Victor Harrit, on debut, failing to score.

bottom of page